I have a soul. And I have a reason to believe this.

From every moment to the next I remain a continuous entity experiencing the present. I know this in the moment that I am typing this message, and though my memories are far from perfect I have no reason to doubt that this knowledge remains valid after the moment has passed. If this knowledge remains valid after the fact it forms a continuous string back through the past, something other than memories. I choose to call this continuous experience my self, or my soul, because I believe it represents a trancendence of this logical plane of existence.

The laws of physics do not call for conciousness, there is no reason that the world should not be “blind”.

I also believe, without evidence, that this is true for everyone else, simply because the alternative is to be a lone soul in a world of zombies. So from now on I shall use plural pronouns.

The failure of physical theory does not mean that we can’t make logical deductions about conciousness. For example we know that our souls are highly isolated within our bodies, specifically the brain. There are many reports of telepathy throughout history, so our isolation may not be total, however these claims are hard to substantiate.

From this my conclusion is that our selves or souls are linked to the complex series of events in our nervous systems. It is the only process or entity in the body that fits my criteria of a continuously acting process. My theory is that the continuous entity of the soul is caused by this motion, constantly processing storing and experiencing information.

This theory raises several questions that I find very interesting.

What happens when that flow of information does not exist, when we are not yet born or when we are dead?

Does it matter how the information is passed? Is the soul truly restricted to the nervous system or can it extend outwards through the information we give and receive from the world?

And if this is the case is it possible that we are all localised parts of a larger conciousness?

Perhaps claims of psychic experiences are a little more believable. I certainly know what it’s like to think the exact same thing as someone else at the same time, does that imply some kind of connection?